Let the Preparations Begin

So here goes my first post documenting this experience. I’m still trying to wrap my head around the fact that I will be living on a boat for months while I travel the world. How did I get so lucky? I’m not one for blogs and sharing my experiences on the world wide web but I guess its the least I could do for my friends and more importantly, my family. Excuse me if it takes me a bit to get used to this.

While going abroad has always been a dream of mine, I would have laughed if you told me I was a good candidate for Semester at Sea. Lets get real. I like my space, my clothing, and my hygiene. BUT when deciding where to go abroad I was really at a conflict of interest because I wanted to go everywhere, see everything. I’ve been to Europe many times. I was looking for a real adventure…

How does this sound for adventure?

  • San Diego, CA, United States
  • Hilo, Hawaii, United State
  • Yoakohama, Japan
  • Shanghai, China
  • Hong Kong, China
  • Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
  • Singapore, Singapore
  • Rangoon, Burma
  • Cochin, India
  • Port Loius, Mauritius
  • Cape Town, South Africa
  • Takoradi, Ghana
  • Tema, Ghana
  • Casablanca, Morocco
  • Barcelona, Spain

So now with about about two weeks to go, I’m just starting to finalize some of my plans for at port days. Most importantly the process of figuring out how to fit my life in two duffel bags is well underway. Any tips are highly appreciated. Just for your entertainment, I’ll share with you some of the things that I need to think about bringing. Everything from the entire pharmacy (malaria,traveler’s diarrhea, and sea sickness are just some of the many), fall/winter/spring/summer clothing (can’t forget the modesty rules for females in many of the countries), FOOD (apparently the food on the boat is no joke), school supplies, pillows, and blankets are just some of the things. Not mention that the 6 vaccinations that I got in the past few days were not an easy obstacle to overcome. BUT there was no fainting this time.. although the nurse did some type of weird hypnosis? While I realize the things I just mentioned may sound a bit overwhelming, it’s the most exciting type of overwhelming there is.

Leave a Reply

